Mar 12

Congratulations to Sydney Maxwell!



Ottawa, ON, March 5, 2019 – From March 1-3, 2019, the 2019 Canadian University and College Squash Championships were held at Mayfair Parkway. 34 student athletes from all around the country competed across 5 divisions and demonstrated a high level of squash throughout the weekend.

In the Women’s Open division, the second seed Anika Alexander from Red River College faced off against Sydney Maxwell, the number one seed from Queen’s University who had an undefeated season in the Ontario University League.  Alexander started the match off strong, taking the first game 12-10. Both players battled hard and left it all on the court, but Maxwell climbed back and took the next two games 11-6, 11-6. The fourth and final game was won by Sydney Maxwell in a thrilling tiebreak that ended 14-12 in Maxwell’s favour, earning her the title of Women’s Open Champion.

In the Men’s Open Division, it was another battle between the top two seeded players. David Mill, the second seed from University of Western Ontario, started off strong and won the first game against the top seeded player Mohanad Hekal from Ryerson University, winning 11-8. Hekal responded strongly, winning the next two games 11-5, 11-4. It looked like Hekal was starting to pull away, but Mill fought back with an impressive 11-1 victory in the fourth game, taking the match to a deciding fifth game. Both players gave it their all, but it was Hekal who would prevail to become the Men’s Open Champion, winning the game 11-7.

There was also a high level of competition played in the Men’s A, Women’s A/B, and Men’s B. Round robins were played in all three divisions, with each player competing against all other competitors in their categories. After three days of grueling squash, three players went undefeated with a 5-0 record and were crowned the champions of their respective divisions – congratulations to Christopher Howard (Men’s A), Heather Dart (Women’s A/B) and Eric Rogers (Men’s B).

It was a fantastic weekend of high-quality squash, and we would like to thank everyone who was a part of this event. Congratulations to all the winners, and we hope to see you again at next year’s event!

Full List of Event Medalists

Men’s Open

Champion: Mohanad Hekal (Ryerson University)
Finalist: David Mill (University of Western Ontario)
3rd Place: Graham Kerford (University of Calgary)

Women’s Open

Champion: Sydney Maxwell (Queen’s University)
Finalist: Anika Alexander (Red River College)
3rd Place: Catherine Giachino (University of Western Ontario)

Men’s A

Champion: Christopher Howard (Queen’s University)
Finalist: Robert Mill
3rd Place: Geoff Lemmon (University of Ottawa)

Women’s A/B

Champion: Heather Dart (University of Western Ontario)
Finalist: Pylin Christopher
3rd Place: Marisa Seth (University of Waterloo)

Men’s B

Champion: Eric Rogers
Finalist: Cameron Meakin
3rd Place: Mohamad Abdelrahman (University of Ottawa)